19 weeks: things i wonder

“your baby’s sensory development is exploding! … some research suggests that [he or she] may be able to hear your voice now.”

i wonder if the research suggests that my voice is the only thing my baby can hear. can my baby hear me pee? or what if i pass gas audibly (which, of course, i never ever do)? can my baby hear that? or is there something special about my voice that makes it the only thing my baby might be able to hear at this point?

“a waxy protective coating called the vernix caseosa is forming on [the] skin to prevent it from pickling in the amniotic fluid.”

what the what? is that the layer of stuff that has to be cleaned off of the baby when it’s born? or is that something else? and why have i never heard of its purpose as an anti-pickling agent?

the quotes are from a pregnancy website that sends me an email every week. i also have a pregnancy app (or two… ahem) on my my phone.

you may have noticed my [brackets] in the quotes up there. it’s because the website (and my pregnancy apps) uses gender specific pronouns. usually female. and i wonder. why do they do that? is it that hard to say “the baby” or “your baby” every time? and what’s wrong with “he or she” or “she or he” or “his or her”? why not cover all your bases as opposed to being wrong half the time?

i wonder why other people have hunches or strong feelings about what the gender of this baby growing inside of me is and i don’t. i have no hunch. no inkling. no clue. why do others? like my husband or friends or or mother or mother-in-law or co-workers. i’m so clueless that i’m not even willing to guess. what’s that about?

i wonder when congress will pass a budget, a real live budget, anywhere close to on time.

This entry was posted in palace and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 19 weeks: things i wonder

  1. ann says:

    Pickling! What!

    Yes, the vernix whatever will usually be somewhat noticeable on baby after baby is born. But “has to be cleaned off” is debatable. It protects baby’s skin after baby is born and a lot of people on the more natural side of the baby spectrum say to leave it on/rub it into the baby’s skin. in fact, they say not to give the baby a bath right away because you will lose vernix and its benefits. Doesn’t one of your apps present that kind of information to you?

    I also have no hunch at all about the he-ness or she-ness of your baby.

  2. Carol Schiess says:

    Okay, what did I say? Girl? I think so. But this week I’ve been thinking boy. So it is quite appropriate to ask: what does she know?

  3. Carol Schiess says:

    As I recall that washing off the vernix was the first thing the “nurses” did after my babies were born. Maybe that’s what’s wrong with all y’all.

Leave a Reply

