17 weeks

as i’ve headed into the throes of the second trimester, i have not discovered a return of energy and pep. the heartburn and constipation are not as bad as during the first trimester. but i’m still tired as all get out. and if i don’t take a nap during the day, forgetaboutit.

a new “symptom” i’ve discovered here in tri-2 has been the increasing sensitivity of my gag reflex. stuff like brushing my teeth or smelling something unpleasant produce an involuntary gag. but i would expect that. i did not, however, expect to find myself gagging when i have a sudden coughing fit.

yesterday, my first official day at 17 weeks, was the first time since i entered pregnancy-land that i vomited. (maybe i should have warned you before i dropped that word on you.)

i had been feeling unwell ever since lunch. it wasn’t nausea. more like i just felt bloated. really bloated and awful. and like something i ate at lunch wasn’t “good.”

brushing my teeth as i got ready for bed set everything in motion. and a few moments later, the vomiting was over and i felt good as new. well, almost good as new.

are you asking yourself why i’m even telling you about how i was selling cars last night (buick!)?

let me ‘splain.

given the way i was feeling, i was pretty concerned about driving from dc to pa yesterday. was the bloated and yucky feeling the start of something bad? would i have to pull over somewhere? would i be able to pull over somewhere if i needed to or would i be stuck in traffic in the middle lane? would i make it?

obviously, i did make it. and i say it was an answer to my prayer. short and desperate and silent though it may have been.

there was something wrong in my lunch yesterday. i was made sick by it. but not until i was safely at home where the suffering and discomfort of it all could be minimal.

aren’t we all grateful for that?

This entry was posted in palace, the long commute and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 17 weeks

  1. Carol Schiess says:

    I love you Alyce

  2. jeanne pickett says:

    I should check on you more often. 17 weeks! pregnant! Hallelujah! I am so excited for you vomiting, heartburn and napping too. Love Jeanne P.

  3. Marty says:

    You now have been fully initiated into the ranks of pregnancy-even though it doesn’t sound like it was pregnancy that caused your “episode.”

  4. ann says:

    I hear you on the random gagging thing. Gagging while brushing my teeth was a daily occurrence and DID at least once result in vomiting. But most of the time it was just unpleasant and made it so I never dared stick my hands in my mouth to floss.

    I’m sorry to have to say this: I don’t like it when vomiting is the answer to my prayers. but I get what you are saying.

Leave a Reply

