a solicitation

from Lorenzo Snow, fifth president of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints:

There must be a labor of mind, an exertion of those talents that God has given us; they must be put into exercise. Then, being enlightened by the gift and power of the Holy Ghost, we may get those ideas and that intelligence and those blessings that are necessary to prepare us for the future, for sceneries that are to come.

okay. here’s where my thinking is.

a child is or children are in my future. i believe this. i know this. but i’m not sure when, and i’m not sure how exactly. i believe it will be with me being pregnant. i also believe there is more work for me to do. more preparation. more learning.

i need to labor. exert my talents. then the ideas for how to prepare and proceed and make myself ready will come.

so. i ask you. what do you think my talents are?

you might say i’m fishing for compliments. but really, i’m looking for growth opportunities.

ready. set. go. prettyplease.

This entry was posted in palace. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to a solicitation

  1. KIM says:

    Hey, it’s Matt’s wife, Kim. I wish I knew you to fully answer your question. But I must say that I think you take beautiful pictures! So, two talents are photography and an eye for beauty. By the way, I love that quote from President Snow. I loved the lesson that was taught on learning two Sundays ago. My “word of the year” is LEARN. It’s the word I haven’t been able to get out of my mind for about a month. I must have a lot to learn this year.

    Like

  2. Ami says:

    You’re a great writer. Duh.
    I think you should start writing that book we’ve been talking about. You know the one?

    Like

  3. Marty says:

    Well, first off, I have to tell you that I felt such love for you as I read your blog. Your willingness and ability to put everything out there in an honest and real way must certainly be a gift. Also, when we have family discussions that get a little crazy, you have a way of bringing perspective to the conversation without being pompous or judgmental. I noticed that very early on in our acquaintance. Of course you know what Robert would say is one of your great talents. Does Morrocan Chicken Pot Pie mean anything to do?

    Like

  4. mar says:

    well, the list could go on and on. the first thing that comes to mind is how you make friends so easily. you can chat with anyone and they feel comfortable around you. i think of so many grocery store clerks, or other random people that you would engage in conversation. it’s a talent i wish i had. you love people deeply and nurture friendships. you have a great sense of humor. you work hard at developing your faith and testimony. you ponder life and are truly a deep thinker. i love you tons. i swear i’m coming to visit this summer!

    Like

  5. Carol Schiess says:

    You’re a smart girl with a loving heart. You can figure anything out. I have seen you do it. You know the bottom line–love. You can do anything you make up your mind to do. I know. I am your mother.

    Like

  6. Lisa C says:

    I remember when I would sit next to you in church. You are a great singer and when I would sit next to you, I would feel like a better singer than I actually was. Yes, you are a talented singer, but you make people feel like they are better than they actually are, without making them feel inferior. I noticed that a lot when we were roommates. You helped people be funnier, smarter, friendlier, less judgemental, less pessimistic, because you were. You have also been blessed with the talent of strength. Miss you.

    Like

Leave a comment