i blame al gore and his cohorts

for the serious deterioration in the quality of my handwriting. he invented the internet, as you know, so i’m sure the people around him are the ones responsible for things like email and all other things electronic that now make it basically unnecessary for me to write anything. ever. except for 5 or 6 checks each month. everything else is typing or thumbing or in some other way not using a pen or pencil to create words on a page.

i suppose i should take some responsibility. i have long been notoriously lazy about taking notes during meetings. but that’s because i’ve always relied on my superior intellect and amazing memory and have not found much value in note taking since i never need to refer to said notes afterward. except that i am not as young as i used to be (what kind of statement of the obvious is that that people use so often like they’re explaining something profound) and recently have noticed that my memory isn’t what it used to be. plus, there’s been a marked uptick in just plain stuff going on at work that has taken the number of things to keep track of past the capacity of my now aging brain. so i’m feeling like i need to start getting serious about taking notes at meetings.

which all leads me back to where i started. i’ve started taking notes at meetings and have discovered that my handwriting is terrible. awful. no good. very bad.

not that i ever had the kind of gorgeous handwriting that every filipino i ever met had (probably still has because it was whipped into them to have good handwriting from a very young age. whip is a strong word.). but i had good handwriting. decent. i was proud of my capital cursive I. and T. and my lower-case S. and a few other letters and letter combinations.

no more. i’m sloppy. a mess.

and i don’t know what to do about it. so for now, i will direct my considerable energy toward al and his buddies.

This entry was posted in layovers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to i blame al gore and his cohorts

  1. Carol Schiess says:

    of course to all of it
    and look at me now using no caps or punctuation
    terrible
    it’s your influence
    But I’ll get back to my own standard.
    someday soon

  2. Ivy says:

    love this post! i sure hate my handwriting too. it’s just painful. i used to take some pride in my handwriting but now it’s just downright embarrassing. and does anyone even study cursive anymore?

Leave a Reply

