deliciousest cookies

these are my favoritest cookies. i got the recipe from one of my favoritest people.

i think i promised this recipe a few months ago. thanks for your patience.

but i didn’t get an awesome camera from anybody. so no mouth-watering photos for you. you’ll just have to believe me.

1 c butter
1 c peanut butter
1 c sugar
2/3 c brown sugar
2 eggs
1 tsp vanilla
2 c flour
1 c oatmeal
2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
2/3 c chocolate chips

cream together all the wet ingredients (through vanilla on the ingredient list)
sift dry ingredients
add to wet ingredients and mix

350 degrees for 8-13 minutes depending on your oven

here are some of my tweaks. 

use quick oats over whole oats. sure, it’s not as healthy, but they mix with the other ingredients better and make for a better cookie texture. and better cookie is more important than pretend healthy cookie.

use 1 cup brown sugar and 2/3 cup white sugar

use chunky peanut butter. use Jif. the natural peanut butter ends up making a drier cookie. and again. let’s not pretend these cookies are healthy. besides, how much is hydrogenated oil/fat going to hurt you if you only use it in cookies?

use bitter or semi-sweet chocolate chips, not milk. not milk. it protects the cookies from being too sweet. and that matters. to me, anyway. i use the Ghirardelli 60% cacao. yum. but regular old Nestle semi-sweet is perfectly delicious.

add peanut butter chips to the recipe. a lovely surprise.

it really does depend on your oven and your altitude. but in my experience, 11-12 minutes is just about right.

update: here’s a photo to tempt you.

cookies

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to deliciousest cookies

  1. queenann says:

    Sorry. I will not use jif. I am morally opposed to it. Or, I am morally opposed to buying it.

    But I’m happy you posted this cookie recipe. And if you made them with jif, and I ate them, I’m sure I would like them. And I would never have to know what kind of peanut butter was in them.

  2. Carol Schiess says:

    Deliciousest cookies. Hmmm. Makes me think of your wedding reception. Andrew asked me last week, that’s last week, if I still have some of those cookies.
    By the way, I’m still nice to April, who works at Pastry Perfection (Ha!).

  3. landeelu says:

    Of course I’ll only use Jif. What other kind of peanut butter is there? I think I ate a spoonful of Jif every day after school all through elementary. And I believe I’m a better person for it.

    I will be trying these and I’ll give you a 1-5 star rating when I’m done. Don’t be nervous.

  4. marisa says:

    are these lisa’s? love you!

Leave a Reply

